OCTOBER 21, 2009

An Organizational meeting of the Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee was held on Wednesday, October 21, 2009 beginning at 7:04p.m., in the Commissioners' Public Meeting Rooms, First Floor, 2 North Main St., Courthouse Square, Greensburg, PA, when the following business was transacted:

Commissioner Tom Balya, Chairman of the Board of Westmoreland County Commissioners, called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Commissioner Tom Balya verified that the Notice of the meeting was published in the Tribune Review on September 15, 2009 and the Solicitor for Westmoreland County had the proof of publication available for viewing. It was also noted that first class letters were sent to each of the governing bodies of each political subdivision in the tax collection district.

R. Mark Gesalman, Solicitor for Westmoreland County informed the delegates that it was determined that the requirements for a quorum were met and that we could proceed with the nominations of Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary.

Mr. Gesalman informed the delegates that the nomination and election of officers must be a duly appointed voting delegate who was present and was willing to accept the nomination.

Commissioner Balya then opened up the floor for nominations of Chairperson for the Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee. Three nominations were given: Diane Heming of Murrysville, Joe Koluder of Derry Area and Scott Sistek of New Stanton. A motion and second, was made to close the nominations and the voting began. With 66 of the Municipalities and School Districts voting, Diane Heming received 34.63% of the vote, Joe Koluder received 51.56% of the vote and Scott Sistek received 13.81%. It was then determined that with a vote of 51.56% Joe Koluder was elected as the Chairman of the Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee.

Commissioner Tom Balya then opened up the floor for nominations of Vice-Chairperson for the Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee. Three nominations were given: Jim Marnell of Ligonier Valley School District, Diane Heming of Murrysville and Linda Iezzi of South Greensburg Boro. A motion and a second were made to close the nominations and the voting began. With 65 (South Greensburg Boro abstained) of the Municipalities and School Districts voting, Jim Marnell received 42.86% of the vote, Diane Heming received 52.50% of the vote and Linda Iezzi received 4.64% of the vote. It was then determined that with a vote of 52.50% Diane Heming was elected as the Vice-Chairperson for the Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee.

Commissioner Tom Balya then opened up the floor for nominations of Secretary for the Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee. There was only one nomination given and accepted and it was then determined that Mary Perez of the City of Greensburg be elected as Secretary of Westmoreland County Tax Collection Committee.

Commissioner Tom Balya and the Solicitor for Westmoreland County then turned the meeting over the newly elected committee to conduct the rest of the meeting.

Chairman Koluder addressed the delegates and thanked them for their votes and proceeded to set the day and time for the next meeting of the committee. After much discussion it was determined that the next meeting would be set for Tuesday, November 10, 2009 at 7:00p.m. in the Commissioners' Public Meeting Rooms, First Floor, Courthouse Square.

The next item on the agenda was the appointment of a bylaws committee. Chairman Koluder asked that five delegates from the municipalities and five delegates from the school districts be appointed and that the three officers would also be included in the by-laws committee. It was then determined that the following persons be appointed to the by-laws committee:

School District

Eileen M. Navish - Belle Vernon School District Jim Marnell - Ligonier Valley School District Allison Willis - Mt. Pleasant Area School District Tammy Tuccarello - Jeannette City School District Jude Abraham - Hempfield Area School District

MUNICIPALITIES

Bud Santimyer - Scottdale Boro Linda Iezzi - South Greensburg Boror George Dunbar - Penn Township Tom Logan - Hempfield Township Sue Trout - City of Greensburg

The next item on the agenda was the appointment of an Open Records Officer. It was suggested that the secretary of the Westmoreland County Collection Committee be appointed as the Open Records Officer as she would be the one who would be keeping the information concerning the committee anyway. It was then approved that Mary Perez be appointed as the Open Records Officer.

Chairman Koluder informed the delegates that a great deal of work had to be done and they would need to set up RFP's for a wage tax collector, hire a solicitor and also an accountant, as well as form a budget committee to handle the committee's finances.

The floor was then opened up to Public Comment. Tom Patterson, the delegate from Rostraver Township had a concern regarding their Township's budget. He wanted to know if each municipality was going to have to include extra money in their budget to pay for the committee as well as their own tax collector. Chairman Koluder informed Mr. Patterson, that they really had no answer on that question, he believed that the earned income tax collected would be used for that purpose, but was not 100% sure and that once they formed a budget committee they would review that issue and let everyone know what would be expected.

It was then suggested that since there was no budget in place for the committee, the expense of mailing information out to each delegate would not be feasible so they would prefer to email everyone information if possible. The Board then gave the delegates the following email addresses so that they could respond in turn with their email addresses so that a mailing list could be created:

Mary Perez - <u>mperez@greensburgpa.org</u> Diane Heming - <u>dheming@murrysvillegov.org</u> John Koluder - <u>jkoluder@wiu.k12.pa.us</u>

Motion was made by Mr. Dennis Pavlik, seconded by Mr. Tom Logan and it was unanimously agreed that since there being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 8:01 P.M.